Felipe Sequeira de Oliveira is a double bass player, composer, arranger and educator. He started studying music in Belém in the north of Brazil, the city where he was born in 1983.

 

 In 2004 he moved to São Paulo to study at the Souza Lima Conservatory, a member of the BIN (Berklee International Network). In 2007 he was awarded with a scholarship to continue his musical studies at the famous Berklee College of Music and around the same time he was also accepted in the KUG (Kunstuniversitat Graz - Austria, the oldest jazz institute in Europe) from where he was granted the degree of Bachelor of Arts in double bass Jazz.

 

 During this period living in Austria, Felipe has played and toured as a sideman in many projects of different styles, all around Europe (Austria, Germany, Croatia, Slovenia, Belgium, Hungry, Italy and Slovakia). During this same time in Brazil he had the opportunity to work as a sideman with the Americans Mark Lambert and Alma Thomas and also the Danish piano player Thomas Walbum.

 

 In 2012 he won the prize of the DOWNBEAT STUDENT MUSIC AWARD, in the category of Best Latin Group (Marco Antonio da Costa Group).

 

 In 2013 during a period living in Brazil he released his first album as composer and band leader, an album entitled “Retrato 3x4”, in which he proposes a mix of all his Brazilian roots and jazz.

 

Since 2015 he is established in Paris, where he plays in the local jazz scene, and has formed his new project, the Felipe Sequeira Quartet. With Pierre Maury on saxophones, Baptiste Castets on drums and Yannick Lestra on piano. The group released its first EP entitled "TARDE" on November 2017.

Contrebassiste, compositeur et arrangeur brésilien, Felipe Sequeira commence ses études en musique à Belém, dans le nord du Brésil, où il est né en 1983.

 

En 2004, il quitte sa ville natale pour São Paulo, où il intègre le conservatoire Souza Lima, membre du Berklee International Network (BIN). En 2007, la prestigieuse Berklee College of Music lui attribue une bourse d’études. Parallèlement, il est accepté à l’Université d’Arts de Graz (Kunstuniversität Graz) en Autriche, où il poursuivra ses études dans le plus ancien institut de jazz d'Europe. Il y obtient son diplôme en 2012 avec mention d’excellence.

 

Pendant son séjour en Autriche, Felipe joue et tourne comme sideman dans de nombreux projets dans différents styles musicaux, allant du jazz au rock, en passant par le reggae, le pop et la musique brésilienne ou cubaine. Il parcourt ainsi plusieurs pays en Europe, comme l’Autriche, l’Allemagne, la Croatie, la Slovénie, la Belgique, la Hongrie, l’Italie ou encore la Slovaquie. Il passe également des courtes périodes au Brésil, où il joue aux côtés d’artistes américains comme le guitariste Mark Lambert et la chanteuse Alma Thomas, ainsi que du pianiste danois Thomas Walbum.

 

En 2012, il remporte le prix DownBeat Student Music Awards, dans la catégorie de meilleur groupe latin, avec le Marco Antonio da Costa Group.

 

De retour au Brésil en 2013, Felipe Sequeira produit et enregistre son premier EP en tant que compositeur et leader de son groupe, sorti l’année suivante, l’EP « Retrato 3x4 » propose un mélange de ses racines brésiliennes et du jazz.

 

En 2015, il s’installe à Paris et s’intègre rapidement à la scène jazz locale. La rencontre avec des musiciens parisiens l’amène à son nouveau projet, le Felipe Sequeira Quartet. Avec Pierre Maury aux saxophones, Baptiste Castets à la batterie et Yannick Lestra au piano, il enregistre son deuxième EP, intitulé « Tarde », sorti en novembre 2017.